News and Performances

Headline Update for 2004

  • Feature interview in Chamber Music magazine, Jan. 2004
  • Awarded 2003 Aaron Copland Award
  • Feature interview in Clavier, April 2003.
  • International San Antonio Piano Competition Commissioned Composer 2003. (One hour radio profile, Texas Public Radio, January 2004)
  • 2003 Commissioned Composer, Music Teachers Association of California.
  • Profiled on two-part Minnesota Public Radio program celebrating women composers. Zaimont works form title music for this 3-year series on women in music. National broadcast. 2003
  • Received recording grants from American Music Center (2003) and Ditson Fund (Columbia U), 2002.
  • Appointed to second term on Advisory Board, International Alliance for Women in Music (IAWM), 2004-2007.
  • Elected national board member in Composition, The College Music Society, 2003-2005.
  • Featured composer for 2002, National Federation of Music Clubs.
  • Featured composer for national conference on women composers, Mississippi,
    October 2002.

  • From the Great Land for mezzo, clarinet, piano and Eskimo drum : Jeanné , Inc.
  • Bubble-Up’ Rag for flute and piano: Vivace Press
  • Reflective Rag for flute and piano: Vivace Press
  • In My Lunchbox –
  • Suite for Developing Pianist : Vivace Press
  • WIZARDS – Three Magic Masters: Vivace Press
  • SYMPHONY for WIND ORCHESTRA in Three Scenes: Sounds Alive!
  • ASTRAL … a mirror life on the astral plane … : Jeanné, Inc.
  • FROM THE FOLK – Song, Dance: Jeanné, Inc.
  • work included as scoring assignment for 3rd edition of Adler The Study of Orchestration teaching package ("Jazz Waltz" from Suite Impressions)

Judith Lang Zaimont's Wizards - Three Magic Masters For Solo Piano to Be Premiered at 2003 San Antonio International Piano Competition - New Work Was Commissioned as Competition Showpiece

Judith Lang Zaimont's Wizards - Three Magic Masters for solo piano will be the featured contemporary work for the 2003 San Antonio International Piano Competition. The piece, commissioned for this year's competition, will be performed by all of the pianists who advance to the Semifinals, which will take place between October 28 and 30, 2003 at the Ruth Taylor Concert Hall of Trinity University, One Trinity Place in San Antonio, Texas.

On Friday, October 31, from 10:00 AM to 12:00 PM, Judith Zaimont will offer a Composer Seminar on her music in the Parker Chapel Choir Room (Bushnell Ave. at Oakmont Court) of Trinity University and on Saturday, November 1, at 7:30 PM, she will discuss the commissioned composition in Ruth Taylor Concert Hall before the 8:00 PM Winners Recital & Award Ceremony.  She will also visit three other area colleges and universities to offer seminars and critiques of student music and will be featured in an interview on Texas Public Radio.     All events are free and open to the public. For more information about the competition and its events, call (210) 655-0766.

Held every three years, the San Antonio International Piano Competition was founded in 1983. It is a world-class competition that recognizes and rewards young musicians of exceptional talent from around the globe. It is equally an enriching musical experience for San Antonio and South Texas audiences while offering a challenging yet inspiring opportunity to promising young artists between the ages of 20 and 32. Visit them online at

Every three years the Competition commissions a new piano work which all contestants must memorize and perform. Judith Lang Zaimont was chosen for this year's commission.    Zaimont, a Tennessee native who grew up in New York, and now teaches at the University of Minnesota, is an internationally recognized composer whose music is characterized by its expressive strength, dynamism, and rhythmic vitality.  Her musical language is  dramatic and coloristic, and she has contributed significant works to virtually every genre.

Her Impronta Digitale for solo piano (from her Piano Sonata) was honored by the 11th Van Cliburn International Competition as one of their four selected competition pieces. The selection came as a result of their American Composers Invitational and Zaimont's work was selected and performed by both of the competition's Gold Medalists.

Ms. Zaimont's music is widely performed (Connecticut Opera, Philadelphia Orchestra, Women's Philharmonic, Kremlin Chamber Orchestra, Czech Radio Symphony) and has been recorded for the Koch International Classics, Arabesque, Milken Family Foundation, Albany, Jeanne, Leonarda,  and 4Tay labels. Her music  has received many awards and prizes,  appears on two Century lists (Chamber Music America; Piano & Keyboard Magazine), and is the subject of many articles, book chapters and several dissertations. In addition to being the 2003 Commissioned Composer for the San Antonio International Piano Competition, Ms. Zaimont is also the 2002 Composer for the National Federation of Music Clubs, and 2002 Commissioned Composer for the Music Teachers Association of California, and the National Board Member for Composition for the College Music Society (2003-2005).
  • October 2002 -- Vergie Rainey - scena for soprano, mezzo and piano to
    texts by Eudora Welty. Commissioned by Millsaps College (Jackson, MS)
    national conference on women composers.
  • November 22, 2002 -- Wind Quintet No. 2 - "Homeland"
    Bergen Wind Quintet, Ted Mann Hall, Minneapolis, MN.
    [Also February 2003, Bergen, Norway.] Commissioned by
    the Minnesota Commissioning Club.
  • March 2003 -- Symphony for Wind Orchestra
    I: Growler II: Dreamz III: Tattoo
    University of Minnesota Wind Ensemble, Craig Kirchhoff, director.
    CBDNA National Convention. Commissioned to honor the 100th anniversary
    of the university’s School of Music.
  • June 2003 -- IN MY LUNCHBOX – Suite for Developing Pianist
    Commissioned by California Music Teachers’ Association. 20 performances.
  • November 2003 – WIZARDS – Three Magic Masters ; required work for the competition
    Commissioned for the 2003 International San Antonio Competition (TX).

RECORDINGS (see Discography for details)
  • CALLISTO - Piano Solo music by Judith Lang Zaimont

SONATA (1999) Jupiter’s Moons (2000) Nocturne (1979) Hesitation Rag (1987)
Performed by Joanne Polk. Supported by grants from the Aaron Copland Fund (AMC) and Ditson Fund (Columbia University). Released in December 2003.
See the bibliography page.



top of page